In Progress – Sugar Plums Sew Along – Getting Organized

I’m joining Sherri at This and That Patterns in her Sugar Plums Sew Along. I got the Winter Wonderland book a while back, but I was in the middle of my Farm Girl Vintage quilt, so I didn’t want to start another big project at the same time. She’s making a smaller version of the Sugar Plums quilt from that book, so I’m going to make one too!

farmhouse

I loved the fabric choices she showed on the link above, so I’m using the same fabric line, Farmhouse by Fig Tree Quilts for Moda Fabrics. I chose two more neutral fabrics for the background and inner borders, two greens and two oranges for the blocks, a black for the blocks and cornerstone pinwheels, a black for the outer border and an orange for the binding. I’m going to wait until the top is done to chose the backing.

I like to have a printed copy to work from, so I downloaded and printed out the cutting instructions from the link on Sherri’s blog above. I’m also trying something new to keep my fabrics organized. On a couple of recent quilts, I’ve gotten fabrics confused and accidentally used my binding fabric in the quilt. 😀 To avoid that this time, I’ve printed out the item information page for each fabric and written on it what I’m planning to use it for in this quilt. I’m hoping this will help me keep everything straight this time. I guess we’ll see. 😀

Here’s a couple of photos of the pages I’ve printed out:

fabric-organizing-pages-2

fabric-organizing-pages-1

Leave a Reply

