In Progress – Heart Wall Quilt

After we took down our Christmas decorations, the wall where the fireplace is looked very naked and sad. I bought some heart shaped felt placemats from Michaels to hang up as a sort-of garland, but that didn’t quite do the trick for me. I decided to make a heart quilt for the lead-up to Valentine’s Day.

A while back, I ordered a fat quarter bundle of Lovebugs by Doodlebug Designs for Riley Blake. I didn’t know what I wanted to do with it, but I knew I needed that fabric! 🙂 So, I was shopping from my stash and decided to use this fabric.

riley-blake-lovebugs-fq-bundle

I measured the area where I wanted the quilt to hang and decided on a size, which gave me my square size to cut, which was 4.5 inch squares. I cut eight squares from each fat quarter, which was a few too many total, but I wanted to be sure I would have enough if I decided to make any changes.

I got the layout of the heart done today and here’s a picture:

Heart Wall Quilt

I’m going to use a fabric from the Daysail line by Bonnie & Camille for Moda Fabrics called White on White Lollies. I have three choices for the backing and binding:

riley-blake-lovebugs-pink-grid
Lovebugs – Pink Grid

riley-blake-lovebugs-pink-love-words
Lovebugs – Pink Love Words

riley-black-lovebugs-red-love-words
Lovebugs – Red Love Words

Which do you think I should use for the backing and binding? I think I’m leaning towards the Red Love Words, but I would love to get some other opinions! 🙂

Fort Worth Fabric Studio

4 thoughts on “In Progress – Heart Wall Quilt”

  1. Oh I love that heart layout. I agree, I would definitely bind in the red being Valentines and all. But I love the grid for the backing…kind of plays on all the squares of the heart. Either way it will be beautiful!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

