In Progress – Ugly Christmas Sweaters Quilt

So, a few weeks ago, when Lorna at Sew Fresh Quilts announced her Ugly Christmas Sweaters Quilt Along, I knew I would be adding it to my list for 2016. I mean really, this thing is the opposite of ugly! It’s totally adorable! At first, I thought I would make the four block mini-quilt, but I’ve now decided to do the 20 block maxi-quilt because I couldn’t decide which of these cute blocks to leave out! 😀

Between me being sick, the kids being sick and trying to squeeze some homeschool in around all that, I just got to this project yesterday. I got the first two blocks cut out finally!

Ugly Christmas Sweaters Quilt - Blocks 1 & 2

I’m using Kona Solids (Sour Apple, Bright Pink, Turquoise, White, Canary, Lipstick, Bahama Blue & Persimmon) for the sweaters and my background is probably going to be Peppermint Penguins Snowflakes in Coral by Studio E. I’m also thinking about going with a solid grey, but I’m not sure yet. I think I’ll probably get the first block put together and then decide.

Peppermint Penguins Snowflakes in Coral

My backing fabric will be Santa Socks Christmas Argyle by Michael Miller. So cute and fun!

Santa Socks Christmas Argyle

I’m hoping to get my first two blocks sewed together today. We’ll see how much I get done! 🙂

10 thoughts on “In Progress – Ugly Christmas Sweaters Quilt”

    1. Hi Paige! I did not make my design board. I bought it from Fat Quarter Shop when they were having a sale a week or so ago. In fact, I bought three of them. 🙂 We’re all finally on the mend now. Thanks! 🙂

      Like

  1. The solids are nice and bright, you have chosen wonderful shades and I love the combination with the “Snowflakes” fabric. I think grey would make the quilt to “serious”. Barbora

    Like

  2. Glad to hear that you and your family are feeling much better, Laurel. You know, you really have a wonderful eye for picking the most beautiful fabrics. These are gorgeous and I love that backing. This is going to be such a festive and happy quilt!

    Like

Leave a Reply

