In Progress – Minecraft Quilt – Blocks 1 & 2

My kids are obsessed with Minecraft. For those of you lucky folks who don’t know what that is, it’s kind of like building with Lego blocks except on the computer. I love it and hate it at the same time. 😀 A while back, I started thinking about making a Minecraft quilt for my daughter and I wasn’t looking forward to planning out all the different blocks. Fortunately, I came across the Minecraft Sew Along at Seriously…I Think It Needs Stitches. I went ahead and bought the Bella Solids fat quarter bundle put together by Fat Quarter Shop. I had a few other things to finish up before I started on this one, but I finally made the first block yesterday.

Here’s Steve (He’s the “main” character that you are playing as. There’s also an alternate, Alex, that I’ll make later.):
Minecraft Quilt - Block 1 - Steve

I made the second block today, the Creeper (This character is a bad guy.):
Minecraft Quilt - Block 2 - Creeper

These blocks are so quick and easy to make that I think this top will be finished in no time! 🙂

8 thoughts on “In Progress – Minecraft Quilt – Blocks 1 & 2”

  1. Oh, Minecraft. My daughter is 15 and still loves playing it off and on. I too had love/hate feelings about it. She use to be addicted to playing it. But as far as computer games goes, it’s actually a pretty good game when you start breaking it down. Your probably going to get best mom of the year award when she sees this quilt.

    Like

  2. I’ve seen a few of these blocks in blogland. I didn’t really know what minecraft was (my boys are grown and on their own), so thank you for the explanation! Now the blocks make a lot more sense to me. 🙂 I bet your daughter will love her quilt when you finish it, the kids all seem so excited about them! Thank you for linking to Main Crush Monday; I really appreciate it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

